Functionally useless

Immediately defunct is not something I try for. But, that’s what I got today.

photo-14

I made this 3′ straight edge on Monday. Chosen from a kiln-dried board of jequitiba that sat in my workshop for months. I had eyed it for a few things, and each time I’ve checked to make sure it was flat.

I should have listened to the voice in my head (voice, not voices) when, as I was planing it to size,  it bowed on me. However, my indomitable spirit persevered. Or I was thickheaded. With no little amount of effort, I re-flattened it. And checked it as I went. Seemed ok.

Two coats of oil and two days later I checked it. Way not flat. It bowed, again.

Now I have a shiny curved stick.

2 thoughts on “Functionally useless

  1. Wesley Beal March 18, 2015 / 11:02 am

    I have one of these in my shop too; I lay it down between two hold fasts or bench dogs and use mine constantly as a planing stop. I like to think that the curve helps it stay secure in place more than it would otherwise.

    Like

    • TIWilson March 20, 2015 / 8:28 am

      that is pretty funny. now at least I have an idea of how to repurpose it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

