Making boards from boards

Sunday afternoon I set out on a new project, the bookshelves from Paul Seller’s Woodworking Masterclass book. I have been looking forward to this. First project of real size. And, bonus, I only had to dimension my lumber down to 7/8″. By hand. I thought the entire thing would take the week.

I started with this.

photo-5

I’d managed to get all my rough cuts, including ripping 2″ off of 12 feet of stock done Sunday. It began to dawn on me how much work I had to do on Monday. Bowing. Cupping. Twist. I watched a one week project slipping into the next week. 3 days of really exhausting work. And on Thursday I had this.

photo-6

It does feel good to look at the comparison. I’m also shopping for a benchtop planer.

Leave a Reply

